May(hem)

Hi everyone!

I can’t believe it’s nearly been a month already since the last time I wrote! Where has the time gone?

I wanted to make a video but I wasn’t sure how exactly I would manage to keep it short. I mean where would I even begin? Would I make a video just about last week? Try to sum up the month?

When in doubt I tend to opt for keeping things simple.

So here it is, a good ol’ post to update you on what I’ve been up to this month!

Admin

HMRC-3

A business wouldn’t be a business without its fair share of administrative tasks. I know, “Boriiing!” you may think. But necessary!

This month I set up to closing my accounts for the past tax year and filing in my tax return so that I wouldn’t have to stress later during the year.

See, that’s not exactly something that I could have shown in a video or… well, I could have but that wouldn’t have been very interesting!

Arty Stuff

Sketches-header2

The big thing after my burnout experience last month was to loosen up and try my best not to care so much about what I draw – in short: have fun!

I did a lot of that in my sketchbook and in my personal work in general this month. I drew silly things…

… and things that I felt genuinely interested in and excited about – a lot of that was sciency stuff!

It’s also this time of the year again and another task I worked on in the background was a double spread for my agent’s catalogue.

It seems simple in appearance but if you’re like me and you like to see as many options as you can because you NEED TO compare or you won’t be satisfied, then you undertsand why it took me a while.

The whole thing involved redoing my space illustration as a digital illustration…

… Starting  laying out the images that I wanted to use on the page, realising that the space illustration didn’t quite fit the rest of the page (I think it was too dark in comparison with the brighter/lighter colours from the other images), drawing a whole new large illustration (see below), and trying about 30 different layouts before I finally settled for one.

Below you can see the progress on the new large illustration:

first-sketch

It all started with this very rough sketch

Lab-final-cut

Lab-RGB-FINAL

And the final illustration!

Day trip to the National Space Centre

Space-header

As a way to relax a bit after all the admin and layout work I did this month I treated myself to a trip to the National Space Centre (I told you, May was very sciency!).

I had wanted to go there to do some reference sketching for a while so that was the perfect occasion!

It was a day full of fun, rough sketches – there was too much to see to stay too long on any one thing – and discovery!

 

And that’s what I did in May!

Leave a Reply

