Fighting the burnout – Step 2: Baby steps

Hello! Welcome back!

Fighting burnout might take some time but what matters is to go one step at a time.

I already feel more excited and motivated than I was yesterday when I started so hopefully this is working.

Either way, thank you for accompanying me on this journey!

Below is today’s progress in pictures.

Halo

Today, I started with adding halos around some of the planets.

File 27-04-2017, 16 31 29

Making a mistake… and fixing it

While painting the small planet next to the astronaut I made a mistake: I painted past the outlines that I had set and gradually enlarged the planet (think snowball effect) until it touched the helmet. I tried to make it look like the astronaut was overlapping but the planet was way too big both in relation to both the astronaut and the planets around, and it didn’t look too good so I had to paint over it.

File 27-04-2017, 16 31 43

Extravehicular mobility unit (aka the spacesuit)

I find space and space-related stuff absolutely fascinating! Although for this piece I am not looking at any references other than my skecthes from February (see yesterday’s post), which is rare for me, I am still learning a bunch of things while checking the spelling of some words for this post (e.g. figuring out if ‘spacesuit’ is written as one or two words – the NASA spells it as one word so I’ll go with that, I mean those guys probably know what they’re talking about).

For example, in space talk if you take your EMU out you are not suggesting that you are taking a large ostrich-like bird outside of the spacecraft but you are actually referring to your spacesuit (or extravehicular mobility unit).

Okay I’ve just made up this example but an extravehicular mobility unit is actually shortened to EMU and it made me giggle that it looks like the name of the bird.

Anyway, back on track.

On a piece like this patience is key. I have to add layer over layer to make the colours more opaque, especially white.

Here you can see some progress on the spacesuit:

File 27-04-2017, 16 31 55

Layering some more

I then added some more layers to the planets before I can start working on the details. The spaceship now also has a window!

File 27-04-2017, 16 32 08

And this is where I stopped and where I leave you for today!

I hope to see you again tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

