Reassessment Time

I was just watching some my friend Trista’s vlogs and today she really got me thinking.

In one of her latest posts she talks about the changes she is going to make to her vlogs and why. One of her main reasons for making changes she says is that she hasn’t been happy with the quality of her most recent vlogs.

That totally struck a chord because I feel the same way about my blog posts.

When I look back at 2016, a lot of improvements where made to my blog at the beginning of the year (in terms of the overall look, I was posting twice a week, etc.) and then things changed a few weeks (maybe even months) before Christmas.

So what happened?

One of the major changes is that around October I became more active on Instagram (it was Inktober remember?). This means that all of a sudden, the content that I was posting on here I was also posting on there. And when people come to see what I do, they don’t want to see the same things everywhere (I certainly find it more intersting when I follow somebody and their content varies from one platform to another).

This was confirmed by an illustration and portfolio consultant I spoke to around that time.

I was advised to use my blog to talk more about my creative process, and Instagram for the images that I was posting on my blog until then (both finished pieces and behind the scenes snapshots).

I thought that this piece of advice made perfect sense and to be fair I couldn’t believe I hadn’t thought of that myself as it sounded pretty obvious.

But quickly after that I realised that:

  • A lot of the time, I don’t really know what to write about
  • The lack of inspiration means I can’t keep posting as regularly as I used to, and to be honest I liked that frequency
  • Writing takes time and I don’t have much of it these days (I know, I know, it’s a question of reassessing my priorities and changing some of the ways I do things in order to make the time; except that I am not ready yet to make the change)
  • And finally, I don’t enjoy writing that much (ironic for a post that is all text). When I say “writing” I mean essay-type content. I am more of a “lots of pictures with a short blurb” than an “lessons learnt” type of person

So in the past months I have been posting less, I have enjoyed blogging less, I have been unhappy with the quality of the whole thing and as a direct result I feel that I have let you, my dear readers, and myself down.

This needs to change!

So while I spend some time reassessing what I want to do, write and show on Camille’s Land and if you’ve made it this far in your reading, now is your chance to let me know what you would like to see/read more of this year (FYI I can’t post videos on here). I’m all ears!

Thank you all for your support, comments and your suggestions so far!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

