Unwrapped

Happy new year!

I hope you had a fantastic Christmas and wish you all the best for 2017.

I promised in my last post that you would get to see the presents that I worked on before the holidays and well, a promise is a promise!

I made the most of the fact that I had many presents to make and used this as a way to try some new techniques and styles, and to have fun.

Some of the materials I played with include:

  • gouache
  •  Fimo (polymer clay)
  • my new dip pen
  • I got my acrylics back out
  • pastel pencils
  • and of course: black Indian ink, coloured Indian inks, watercolour and colouring pencils!

As for style, as well as working in my usual Indian ink + watercolour combo style I experimented ‘vintage’ as there are a lot of gorgeous illustrations in this style that I like and I wanted to try it for myself; and just because it came out of nowhere I painted one illustration in a style that I would call ‘dreamy modern art’ (the blue planet with a poppy one).

It sure was a lot of work but it also felt very liberating to be able to try so many things and work on so many different subject matters.

In short, I loved it and I am thinking of doing it again next, erm… this year!

Hopefully my family won’t get bored of getting illustrations as presents too quickly!

Now it is time to get back to work!

(The poppy-on-the-blue-planet illustration was inspired by the work of illustrator Cécile Hudrisier and the sausage dogs by the illustrations of Emma Block.)

3 thoughts on “Unwrapped

Leave a Reply

