Looking back on Inktober 2016

Inktober is over!

The rules of the challenge were quite simple: make a drawing in ink everyday, every other day or every week and stay consistent with it.

I decided to add a few rules of my own: although it was technically allowed, I decided that I wouldn’t trace outlines in pencil before inking (everything was drawn 100% freehand). I also decided to try my best to keep the overall style consistent; this is why, alhtough I could have, I didn’t use my nib pen at all. I started with ink and brush so I had to stick with it. Finally, I chose that I would only work in black and white.

Looking back on the past month, there were some “meh” moments:

  • I didn’t really like most of the “official” themes; I felt that they weren’t always adapted to the type of illustrations I normally like to draw and I felt that there were a lot of serious/dark themes. This being said, it forced me to get out of my comfort zone and sometimes, to find ways to deal with the subject matter in a more light-hearted way.
  • It was freakin’ hard to ink freehand, without any outlines!
  • I often felt pressed for time. Although Inktober was a fun challenge to take, I had to make room for it… on top of everything else (understand work but also usual house chores and life obligations like cooking/eating dinner, etc.).
  • Sometimes I felt a bit frustrated about the fact that I couldn’t make more time to develop my illustrations further; I had to keep them minimal so that they wouldn’t take me too long to draw.

But there were also some brilliant ones:

  • I liked the fact I got to practise ink drawing even more (this is something I had wanted to do for some time but I was struggling to make the time for it)!
  • It made me want to go a step further and add colour (and not with Photoshop, no. I mean paint!).
  • It made me want to draw in that style even more.
  • It made me want to keep a consistent practice. Although I do draw everyday, it can be easy to get caught up in work and only draw the type of illustrations that you are commissioned to draw. Inktober made me want to add more experimentation of subject matters, techniques, etc. and to do it more often.
  • Inking freehand for a month made everything else seem easy in comparison, even if my Inktober illustrations were only small pieces!

So all in all, I feel relieved that the psychological pressure of Inktober is over but I want to keep the positive habits and I generally feel happy and energised. I am thinking of starting Illustration Friday again (once a week should be manageable!) and/or to give myself a new theme or technique to explore every month.

We’ll see how it goes!

In the meantime, here are the last Inktober illustrations of the year.

You can see the whole collection on my Instagram.

 

Happy November!

3 thoughts on “Looking back on Inktober 2016

  1. Pingback: 8 Lessons I Learnt From Keeping A Travel Sketchbook | Camille’s land

Leave a Reply

