Brand Licensing Europe 2014

20141007_125621

 

Today I paid a visit to Brand Licensing Europe 2014 at the Kensington Olympia.

It was a nice day overall but I couldn’t help being a bit disappointed when I found out that many new characters and heroes that submerge the market nowadays look very poor quality; a lot of them are what I call ‘bad 3D’ illustrations or ‘flat, charmless vector’ ones. What is it about all those gigantic eyes too? Or is it me being old fashioned? Anyway, some of those characters and illustrations made me feel very sad for the new generations of children – it’s like the people who designed them didn’t care about giving the young ones quality (maybe they think that children wouldn’t know the difference anyway?). Where is the magic? Where is the poetry? Where is the enchantment?

There’s only one thing I can add to that: let’s change the world of illustration people! Children do deserve the same quality as adults!

On the bright side, it was quite fun and somewhat surreal to walk past Sponge Bob, Sonic the Hedgehog, Hello Kitty and Peppa Pig’s family (to name but a few). I also talked to some really nice people and was given a free pair of thermal socks (yay!).

It was also fun seeing characters from my childhood and teenage years (Miffy, Moomin, Pokemon, Sailor Moon, …), so fun that sometimes I just couldn’t stop smiling at the memories rushing back into my head.

Some more pics of the day:

 

So Brand Licensing Europe 2014: some good things and some not so good ones, but definitely fun if like me you feel like a child when you see your childhood heroes.

One thought on “Brand Licensing Europe 2014

  1. Tanja

    Yep, there’s a lot that the sensitive illustrator needs to edit out at the BL convention. Meh – I agree with you on all those flat characters flooding the marketplace. But you are also right – we can focus on putting heart and life into characters and win children over one book, flashcard or fabric design at a time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

