Book Covers

Our task for last week was to choose a book title and by using typography and colour only, to offer the reader an impression of the content – or put differently, to give the reader the opportunity to judge the book by its cover.
I chose Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll, and below you can follow the evolution of my book cover:
 
Although I really like the style of this cover, it is maybe a bit dark for Alice in Wonderland. Maybe for a Halloween/horror version?



The colours on this cover are more ‘appropriate’ and relate more to Alice. You can recognise the blue dress, the white apron and the black shoes. I really liked this version but unfortunately, the rings in the background that I placed there to create contrast between the background and the title really looked like the rabbit hole. Although my intention wasn’t to create an illustration (we were not allowed to use imagery) the rings were associated so strongly with the rabbit hole that they had become an illustration despite themselves, and as a consequence my work had been made… out of brief.
 
 
Goodbye rings! On this new version, the title is enlarged and the word ‘wonderland’ extends beyond the edges of the cover on both sides to convey the concept of growth, which is one of the major themes in the book.
 
Another similar version where ‘Alice’ has been enlarged… a bit too much to my taste. It was worth trying to see, but I prefer the previous version.
Finally, here is another version where the title, at the bottom of the cover, suggests Alice falling in the rabbit hole.
I developed many more versions than what I am showing here and what I actually found tricky was to know when to stop; when a version is good enough. But it was great fun and overall I really enjoyed this activity! I found the experimentation side of things very interesting and I liked seeing the transformation of the cover. It is amazing how sometimes, what looks like a tiny change can convey a completely different feel or different ideas!
3 thoughts on “Book Covers

  1. Anonymous

    Hi Camille! Thanks for sharing, I enjoy reading your posts and seeing your wonderful creations, you are talented!In my opinion the best cover is the first one because Alice has a very dark side that is often forgotten, it is not really a children's book, so that is why I appreciate it when it is presented in a more serious way… However, the second choice, with the rings work pretty well for me too… 🙂 good luck and keep posting!Hugs from Vienna,Alba

    Reply
  2. (C)amille

    Thank you for your comments Alba and Kevin, I really appreciate it. It is very interesting to see what other people think and like. My personal favourites are version 1 and 2, and my tutor's favourite is version 5 (the last one on the page).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

